Suppose I cast Death Grasp for 1W, 1B, and five uncolored. Is the converted mana cost of this spell 2, 7, or what? More generally, what is the converted mana cost of "x"?
Converted mana cost: 1 + 1 + 5 = 7
If a cost has an “X” in it, the value of X must be announced as part of playing the spell or ability. (See rule 409, “Playing Spells and Abilities.”) While the spell or ability is on the stack, the X in its mana cost equals that amount of generic mana. If a card in any other zone has X in its mana cost, the amount is treated as 0. In other cases, X will be defined by the text of a spell or ability. If X isn’t defined, the controller of the spell or ability chooses the value of X. All Xs on a card have the same value.
203.3. The converted mana cost of a card is the total amount of mana in the mana cost, regardless of color (For example, a mana cost of 3UU translates to a converted mana cost of 5). The converted mana cost is a generic mana cost—it may be paid with any combination of colored and/or colorless mana, regardless of the colors in the spell’s mana cost.
DCI Judge Level 1
ok, if the player casts "death grasp" for 5bw (which i assume is what you meant by 1w, 1b and 5generic, rather than b, w, and 7 generic) then the mana cost of the spell would be 7, right? isn't mana cost on "x" spells dependent on what x is announced and paid for when announced? (except when it says on the card that 'x' is zero for some reason) pro-gold (there's a reason i have protection from gold, and gold is not multicolored in this reason)
X is just one part of the mana cost.
There is no such thing as "pro-gold" yet, but Death Grasp is both white and black and is affected by pro-white and pro-black.
so this means when i try to counter this with say a spell blast or by using ice caves i would have to pay 7 for the blast and wb and 5 generic to counter it right
Counter target spell with converted mana cost X.
Whenever a player plays a spell, any other player may pay that spell's mana cost. If a player does, counter the spell. #(Mana cost includes color.)#
So let's say you try to counter a Death Grasp of X = 5.
With Spell Blast, you seek the converted mana cost. As stated before, converted mana cost is the sum of every mana symbol in the upper right corner of the card. In the case of Death Grasp for 5, the converted mana cost is 7. So your Spell Blast will cost 7U.
With Ice Cave, you pay the mana cost. It's not the same thing as the converted mana cost. As explained in the text of Ice Cave, mana cost includes color. So, with Ice Cave, you'll need to pay 5BW to counter a Death Grasp of 5.
rakso- when i say i have protection from gold, i am referring to the metal and not the color