2 Questions

Beyond Dominia: The Rules Mill: 2 Questions

By The Pharcyde on Saturday, November 03, 2001 - 08:15 pm:

If you put a permanent +1/+1 counter on an animated 'Mishra's Factory'(or any other man land for that matter) will the counter stay after it de-animates and then still affect it when it's re-animated?

Also, if you 'copy artifact' a 'mishra's factory' what do you get? permanent assembly-worker or normal mishra's factory that de-animates at end of turn but still has the ability to re-animate etc.?

By Serra (Serra) on Sunday, November 04, 2001 - 11:25 am:

Counters stay on a permament no matter what form it is in, so yes they would stick around for the next animation.

You can Copy Artifact a Factory in Worker form, but it will be a base Factory and not currently animated. (kind of a strange rule, but it makes sense to keep things simple.)

By The Pharcyde on Monday, November 05, 2001 - 07:42 pm:

Ok Thanks.

By imp on Wednesday, November 21, 2001 - 01:21 am:

Not so strange, the factory worker is the legal target, not Mishra's factory.

the imp

By Serra (Serra) on Wednesday, November 21, 2001 - 09:09 am:

the strange part is that they copy is NOT a worker, but a factory...so you are copying an artifact but ending up with a land

By Cormarrr, the Groundskeeper (Cormarrr) on Wednesday, November 21, 2001 - 01:42 pm:

Just to add some support to Serra cause I always get confused with copy cards, here is what I think is the relevant ruling:
E.4.Ruling.3 - Because of Rule E.4.2, a copy card can copy something that is only of the appropriate type due to an effect. The copy card ignores all effects on the thing it is copying, however. For example, a Clone could target a Chimeric Staff that is currently animated into a creature. This is because the game thinks it is a creature and allows such a target. If it does so, however, the copy is simply the base Chimeric Staff card and it is not a creature (but it does have the Staff's ability to turn into a creature). This is because the copy effect does see past the temporary effect. [CompRules 2001/07/23 - 503.2]

By Liquefactive Necrosis on Saturday, November 24, 2001 - 03:49 am:

Let me get this straight...
If I Clone a Chimeric Staff, it becomes an artifact, and no longer counts as a creature (for purposes of Wrath) and is perfectly disenchant-able as such?

By Serra (Serra) on Saturday, November 24, 2001 - 09:53 pm:


By imp on Wednesday, November 28, 2001 - 01:45 am:

Thanks Serra, Cormarrr.

By shinano on Wednesday, November 28, 2001 - 11:43 pm:

what if you doppleganger a chimeric staff is it blue or an artifact????

By Gzeiger (Gzeiger) on Thursday, November 29, 2001 - 01:30 am:

I think it would be a blue artifact. Artifact is a card type and not a color.

Add a Message

This is a public posting area. If you do not have an account, enter your full name into the "Username" box and leave the "Password" box empty. Your e-mail address is optional.