187 creatures

Beyond Dominia: The Rules Mill: 187 creatures

By C. Weston on Sunday, November 25, 2001 - 12:16 am:

I've been playing with 187 creatures long enough to know better, but help clarify this for me.

1. The only creature on the table is my opponent's black knight. I play man-o-war. Am I forced to name the bounce target (naming "black knight") as I play the man-o-war as a spell, or do I wait until the man-o-war successfully resolves to name its bounce target?
In other words, if I play man-o-war, naming "black knight" and my opponent edicts himself in response to my casting man-o-war, will the man-o-war's bounce target simply be fizzled? Or does the man-o-war wait to have its target named when it resolves, so that I would have to make the man-o-war bounce itself (because the black knight was sacrificed to edict)?

Sorry about the wordy post, and thanks in advance.


By GDarius on Sunday, November 25, 2001 - 12:25 am:

You name the 187 ability's target when it triggers, not when you cast the creature that generates it.

You play the creature, when it comes into play, the ability is triggered and you name its target, then the ability resolves.

Meaning, in this situation; if your opponent edicts himself in response to your man-o-war, then the jellyfish bounces itself. If he responds to the ability, it just fizzles and man-o-war stays.


By Scrubby on Sunday, November 25, 2001 - 03:30 pm:

What is 187 creatures?

By Tristal on Sunday, November 25, 2001 - 03:38 pm:

'187' is a term that basically means "Has a coming into play effect." It used to mean basically the Visions creatures that specifically destroyed things when they came into play (Nekratall, Uktabi Orangutan) but has expanded to mean pretty much any creature with a CIP effect that removes something on the board.

By WestWycke, the Lexicologist (Westwycke) on Sunday, November 25, 2001 - 03:40 pm:

187 was a movie released around the time Mirage/Visions came out. In the movie, 187 stood for the the police code for a Murder or Homicide.

The Nekretaal's coming into play effect was given the slang term 187, and it was eventually expanded to cover most any creature with a "destroy" type CIP effect.

By Bart (Bart) on Tuesday, January 29, 2002 - 08:05 am:

A question on a 187 creature : Ouktabi (destroy target artifact when -- comes into play).
If there is no artifact in play, could it be played ?

By François Laroche on Tuesday, January 29, 2002 - 09:43 am:

Yes. But the triggered ability won't go on the stack, because there's no target for it.

By Crovax on Saturday, February 09, 2002 - 03:37 pm:

It's like playing a Mystic Snake when there are no spells o the stack. Why play it at all, you ask?
1) Attack with Glade Gnarr.
2) Glade Gnarr not blocked (oppo. will have no creatures against this deck)
3) 3 InstaSnakes = Glade Gnarr gets +6/+6
4) Stomp on my opponent for 10.
Yeah, yeah, it's expensive. Time Fields (deck name) takes care of this for me anyway.

By More bouncing than a beeble on Monday, February 11, 2002 - 11:33 am:


Don't know if your interested, but my combo is Glade Gnarr/Shimmering Wings. Attack, cast/return/cast/return/cast, damage (10 flying), return. Total used mana is 6 compared to MySnake which runs 12. FYI.

Add a Message

This is a public posting area. If you do not have an account, enter your full name into the "Username" box and leave the "Password" box empty. Your e-mail address is optional.