Illusionary Mask rulings

Beyond Dominia: The Rules Mill: Illusionary Mask rulings

By CF (Cf) on Friday, January 18, 2002 - 06:43 pm:

> =======================================================================
> NetRep Reply number 649 to the Magic: the Gathering List
> =======================================================================

> [DP Twisted with an Illusionary Mask/Phyrexian Dreadnought Redux]
> > I don't understand how the current timing rules permit a Dreadnought
> > to enter play without doing its replacement effect. ... But a
> > replacement effect is not a comes-into-play ability, ...
> If it replaces "~this~ comes into play," it is. The problem with
> supplying definitions for a concept like "comes into play ability" is
> that the cards can create all kinds of variations on that concept,
> and not all will fit in the same mold. One definition used is
> "Instructions that alter permanents coming into play." Phyrexian
> Dreadnought qualifies, but comes-into-play triggers do not. Yet both
> are comes-into-play abilities.
> If you want, think of Illusionary Mask as saying "A creature card with
> converted mana cost X or less becomes a face down card. Put it into
> play face-down..." This separates the "face down" effect from the "put
> into play" effect in a way that will satisfy you. This rewording is not
> necessary because the rules say cards affected by Illusionary Mask are
> "turned face down before they come into play."
> In the replies, you commented on "before this comes into play" effects.
> There are none. There are effects that replace a single comes-into-play
> event with a series of events, the last of which is usually putting the
> card into play, but that is different. Such replacements do not apply
> until the original "put this into play" event is to happen. Rule 514.2
> says that is after the card loses its abilities.

> - ------------------------------------------------------------------- -
> - Jeff Jordan Official MTG-L NetRep for -
> - j***j@e*** Wizards of the Coast, Inc -
> - ------------------------------------------------------------------- -

By Fragment_One (Frag) on Friday, January 18, 2002 - 06:52 pm:

What does this mean?

By Taeze on Friday, January 18, 2002 - 07:01 pm:

That you can use illusionary mask to put a dreadnought into play, then get 12 power worth of tokens into play, and then flip it over and sac the little 'uns?

Or that you never have to sac anything? Rules people don't speak English.

By Sylvesterian Beats (Sylvester) on Friday, January 18, 2002 - 07:26 pm:

it means mask+dreadnought works.

CIP effects are abilities of the creature. When it's a vanilla token, it doesn't have CIP effect. When you flip it over, the card has already come into play.

By Deuce (Deuce) on Friday, January 18, 2002 - 07:29 pm:

You don't have to sac anything.

Another good thing abou the mask is the counter player cannot counter the "masked summoned" creature unless they use something like interdict. Also it works well with standstill because you're no longer considered as casting the creature if you use the masks you don't break standstill lock but you do get the creature.

By soso on Friday, January 18, 2002 - 09:09 pm:

mask, dreadnaught works. i asked randy beuhler at ptsd...

Add a Message

This is a public posting area. If you do not have an account, enter your full name into the "Username" box and leave the "Password" box empty. Your e-mail address is optional.