stupid question.

Beyond Dominia: The Rules Mill: stupid question.

By Mooser on Tuesday, January 22, 2002 - 06:25 pm:

My friend thinks that you can Replenish or Rector out a creature enchantment onto a Morphling, even if they activate its ability.

I say he can't. Who's right?

By Rakso, Patriarch & Rules Ayatollah (Rakso) on Tuesday, January 22, 2002 - 07:13 pm:

Yes, you can.

This is very counter-intuitive, but let's just say that the creature enchantment comes back as a permanent, and only spells (the ones you stack) have to pick a target.

By Matt the Great (Matt) on Wednesday, January 23, 2002 - 01:44 am:

Also, once you've started to resolve the Replenish or Rector ability, they have to wait for it to finish to get priority (to activate abilities etc). This played a role in David Zadok Stroud's extended post-necro deck which ran a pair of Confiscates to surprise opponents.

By Crovax the Great on Wednesday, January 23, 2002 - 06:23 pm:

This reminds me: does making the Morphling untargetable in response to a spell or ability fizzle that spell or ability? around here it does, but I can't find exact rules one way or the other.

By François Laroche on Thursday, January 24, 2002 - 09:01 am:

The term fizzle doesn't exist.

But yes, the result is that:

If you make Morphling intargettable after a spell targetting it (any spell with the word Target or a Local Enchantment) is on the stack, it will cause the spell to be countered upon resolution because it's target won't be valid on resolution.

You can see section 413 (particularly 413.2a) or the Comprehensive Rulebook for exact details about it.

By alfred the amazing albino acrobat on Thursday, January 24, 2002 - 03:33 pm:

Oh no! An anti-fizzler!!!
Fizzling was great...

Add a Message

This is a public posting area. If you do not have an account, enter your full name into the "Username" box and leave the "Password" box empty. Your e-mail address is optional.