I'm new to magic

Beyond Dominia: The Rules Mill: I'm new to magic

By paul on Tuesday, January 29, 2002 - 04:26 pm:

what is meant by converted mana cost?

By François Laroche on Tuesday, January 29, 2002 - 04:33 pm:

Converted Mana Cost
The converted mana cost of a card is the total amount of mana in its mana cost, regardless of color. For example, Air Elemental has a mana cost of 3UU and a converted mana cost of 5. See rule 203, “Mana Cost.”

By Crovax on Tuesday, January 29, 2002 - 05:04 pm:

Go to
to check up on any rules. Magic's site's rules page isn't updated as often as Crystalkeep's.
Don't bother trying to read the entire thing, it'll be like a legal document to you. That's why those of us who know the rules and quote them verbatim are sometimes called "rules lawyers"

By François Laroche on Wednesday, January 30, 2002 - 09:46 am:

Crovax: What are you talking about? Magic's rules page are more updated than Crystalkeep! They are THE rules. If it's not there, it's not the rule. They don't need to update every day simply because the rules don't change every day.

The one thing CrystalKeep has is rulings about certain cards interactions. Those can always be derived from the Comprehensive Rulebook. And they can always be found on the DCI Judge page in the MTG-L archives.

Add a Message

This is a public posting area. If you do not have an account, enter your full name into the "Username" box and leave the "Password" box empty. Your e-mail address is optional.