Beyond Dominia: The Rules Mill: Plagiarize

By Troll on Thursday, January 31, 2002 - 10:00 am:

If I cast Tims Spiral, then in response my opponent, would I draw 14 cards and he draw none? This card is waiting for someone to break it.

By Rakso, Patriarch & Rules Ayatollah (Rakso) on Thursday, January 31, 2002 - 10:59 am:

Oh, yes. It works with everything up to Teferi's Puzzle Box.

Thing is, well, it costs a bunch of mana, and if you could pay it, you could probably draw enough on your own.

By Crovax on Thursday, January 31, 2002 - 08:39 pm:

Umm, Laquatus's Creativity,
You discard your hand. I draw that many cards.

By Vyktm (Vyktm) on Saturday, February 02, 2002 - 12:37 pm:

winds of change

By dope on Monday, February 18, 2002 - 01:10 pm:

How does Plagiarize interact with Standstill? If I cast Plagiarize with a Standstill in play, does Standstill's effect trigger and go on the stack first, followed by Plagiarize, in which case I draw three cards, or does Standstill trigger after Plagiarize is on the stack?

By Westwycke (Westwycke) on Monday, February 18, 2002 - 01:20 pm:

When you cast Plagiarize, it goes on the stack. Then any effects that triggered due to the casting of Plagiarize go on the stack, such as Standstill. Since Standstill will resolve first, your opponent will get to draw their cards from Standstill before Plagiarize resolves.

By Aaron on Monday, February 18, 2002 - 06:39 pm:

But if you break your standstill with a different card, put standstill's effect on the stack, and then cast plagiarize, then you draw the cards.

By GDarius on Monday, February 18, 2002 - 07:45 pm:

Wouldn't the standstill just trigger again off the plagirize anyway? Looks to me like your opponent would still draw 3.



By Gzeiger (Gzeiger) on Monday, February 18, 2002 - 11:26 pm:

You are correct, GDarius.

By Dandan (Dandan) on Tuesday, February 19, 2002 - 01:26 am:

Couldn't you trigger the Standstill, put the draw 3 effect on the stack THEN add Plagiarize. It resolves then the draw 3 resolves.

Plagiarize looks a lot like Teferi's Response, a cool card which is narrow in use. I'd usually rather have a Misdirection since most opponents favour cards which make them draw cards and not me.
If you are playing cards which make your opponent draw cards (except in an Academy deck) you'll probably lose. If your opponent is playing such cards you'll probably win anyway. It's good in multiplayer since there is a much greater chance of seeing such cards.

It also doesn't affect Fact or Fiction or Necro.

By François Laroche on Tuesday, February 19, 2002 - 08:33 am:

No, because Standstill is still in play after it's ability goes on the stack. It's only sacrificed upon resolution. So, as long as it's not resolved, every further spell played would trigger it again.

The only way to use Plagiarize with Standstill is to cast Plagiarize, then Standstill, then another spell.

By Dandan (Dandan) on Tuesday, February 19, 2002 - 08:42 am:

Couldn't you Interdict it?


So Plagiarize is useless with Standstill as well as Fact or Fiction and Necro!!

By François Laroche on Tuesday, February 19, 2002 - 10:07 am:

Counter target activated ability of a permanent that's not a mana ability.
Draw a card.

Intedict doesn't work on triggered abilities. Anyway, your Interdict would still trigger the Standstill.

By Anxiety (Anxiety) on Tuesday, February 19, 2002 - 08:37 pm:

Can I get an official ruling from one of you judge types? Plagarize someone is response to them casting contract - what happenes and why - who antes, for example.


By Gzeiger (Gzeiger) on Tuesday, February 19, 2002 - 10:42 pm:

Contract From Below
Discard your hand, then ante the top card of your library, then draw seven cards.

It's really quite straightforward. Plagiarize does exactly one thing: "if target player would draw a card, you draw a card instead." So when Contract resolves, its caster discards his or her hand, then antes the top card of his or her library, then the caster of Plagiarize draws seven cards.

By Anxiety (Anxiety) on Thursday, February 21, 2002 - 12:35 am:

Ah, thought contract read to draw eight cards and ante the first.


By Matt Caplan (Caplan) on Thursday, February 21, 2002 - 11:52 am:

On the card, it does. Gzeiger posted the Oracle wording.

By Malefico on Friday, February 22, 2002 - 09:51 pm:

I don´t know how to post a new topic so i will ask here. Why can´t I reach treshold in my first turn with Breakthrough for zero?

By Sylvesterian Beats (Sylvester) on Friday, February 22, 2002 - 11:30 pm:

you can.

By Gzeiger (Gzeiger) on Saturday, February 23, 2002 - 03:10 am:

You just end up having threshold with one land in play and nothing in your hand, so it's not any good....

By Crovax on Saturday, February 23, 2002 - 11:41 am:

A few other notes on Interdict. Don't forget them most useful things about it: It has buyback, and the countered ability cannot be played again that turn.

By Burning Ice, the Elementalist (Burningice) on Saturday, February 23, 2002 - 12:31 pm:

Interdict doesn't have buyback. It's a cantrip, but can't be cast again and again.

Add a Message

This is a public posting area. If you do not have an account, enter your full name into the "Username" box and leave the "Password" box empty. Your e-mail address is optional.